Fun Pop Poetry #22

harvard

“Today’s Poetry Scene Part I” by Ellsworth B. Smith

The question’s on my mind
I ponder all the time
Perhaps someone can answer my query
“Does anybody like academic poetry?”

I wouldn’t say it sucks
I wouldn’t claim it blows
It just puts me to sleep
Does anybody like academic poetry?

The back row you’ll see me sleeping
At the latest campus reading
Hear the monotonous drone
while I snore
I only want to go quickly home!

So answer my question please
The value I don’t believe
Reputations I can’t conceive
Does anyone really like academic poetry?

*******
Send your snarky poems to funpoppoetry@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

